Opinion: Trump and The Environment

The Day After

It’s the day after the election and I’m feeling a bit nauseated. Maybe depressed is a better word? Grasping for words today. I’m overwhelmed by the thought of a Trump Presidency and all that it might mean. Saddened that so many people felt compelled to vote for him.

But for me, optimism prevails. I love America. Born in Sweden, I could certainly uproot my family and move back there. But running away won’t solve the problems we face. I will not let fear rule my life. Fear is what got us into this mess in the first place. Fear of other people, fear of other peoples opinions and lifestyles. Fear can not get the better of me today.

So lets move forward and work with what we have

A few key bullet points from President Elect Trump’s website:

  • “Make America energy independent, create millions of new jobs, and protect clean air and clean water. We will conserve our natural habitats, reserves and resources. We will unleash an energy revolution that will bring vast new wealth to our country.”
  • “Unleash America’s $50 trillion in untapped shale, oil, and natural gas reserves, plus hundreds of years in clean coal reserves.”
  • “Open onshore and offshore leasing on federal lands, eliminate moratorium on coal leasing, and open shale energy deposits.”

As much as I oppose continuing and strengthening an energy policy that is basically business as usual (shale, oil, natural gas and coal) I see why this message appeals to some Americans. Americans want to keep energy jobs in America. I get it. I want energy jobs to stay in America as well. And just for the sake of argument, why not keep getting our dirty energy from American sources instead of importing it from other countries (lets just disregard the environmental impact at this point)? I see the appeal! I know lots of people who agree. Why import what we already have at home? We’re using the energy whether it comes from the middle east, mid west or off the California coast.

Can We All Grow Together?

The question for me becomes, can we keep and grow the business as usual energy jobs that currently exist (cole, natural gas etc) and ALSO grow renewable energy? Whether the Trump administration wants it or not, the solar power industry is booming along with the entire renewable energy industry. So can we all work together to promote green energy jobs while still keeping the jobs that currently exist?

If the Trump administration really, truly wants to “Make America energy independent, create millions of new jobs, and protect clean air and clean water,” then lets do this. Lets all work together to get it done. Democrats and Republicans working together.

Today, I truly hope that Trump will stand by this statement on his own website:

 “We will conserve our natural habitats, reserves and resources. We will unleash an energy revolution that will bring vast new wealth to our country.”

Donald J. Trump’s website

Published by

Rebecca Kimber

I love being a mom and learning about climate change and environmental issues, in particular issues that effect my family.

Leave a Reply

